House of Cards

Season 3 of the hit politico drama House of Cards has hit the homepage of my all time favorite entertainment source: Netflix. But before I admittedly spend the next 72 hours in bed with my Mac and a bucket of popcorn, I thought it best to get ready by analyzing the old Underwood townhouse and the gorgeous interiors that lie within it (because that’s the kind of design freak I am).

This picture perfect home for two reminds me of my grandfather’s old townhouse in D.C. The living room style is elegant, filled with neutral textiles and dark wood that gives a rich and timeless feel. My favorite piece in the room is the dark-stained fretwork hutch that adds the perfect amount of subtle detail.

main.original

Next, lets take a second to admire the sleek and classic black and white kitchen that these set designers have put together. Shaker style cabinets, subway tile, black countertops and steel appliances make up the industrial modernism style that lends a break from the rest of the home’s traditional decor. My favorite piece in here are the industrial modern metal counter stools.

underwood-white-kitchenmain-1.original

Finally, lets end by looking at the room where the Underwood’s end their day: the bedroom.

Luxurious and elegant, the Underwood’s bedroom portrays a more transitional style with black and white photographs and geometric printed pillows. I love this space because while the rest of the home feels more formal, this room gives me a sense of comfort. This seems to be the only proof that someone actually lives here and it isn’t a model home on display.

underwoods-bedroom

Now excuse me while I get into my pajamas and start my House of Cards marathon.

xx Meg

2 thoughts on “House of Cards

  1. I love that you analyzed the design interiors of a show you love “because that’s the kind of design freak I am”. I really enjoyed reading your post because I hadn’t thought about certain elements, like the black and white kitchen, or the geometric patterns being of importance or related to the characters style. I think it’s cool because I tend to the same when I see certain designs or art displayed on tv shows, and right away start commenting on it!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Meg, I absolutely love this post! House of Cards is one of my favorite shows, and I am so glad you pointed out these aspects of the house. I have watched every episode, but I have never really taken the time to look at the detail in designs. I couldn’t agree with you more! Thank you for pointing it out! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment