Ready, Set…

This is my first blog post…ever. So as first blog posts go, I guess I should be introducing myself. I’m a 21-year-old soon-to-be graduate studying home furnishings at High Point University in North Carolina: the central hub of all things furniture. At a young age, every birthday I asked for my room to be redecorated. I loved a new theme, furniture, and freshly painted walls; a new room for me was other kids’ barbies, legos and video games. My amazing mother somehow always made it happen, spending long nights after work for a week straight to get my room ready, just to have it do it again the following year. As I got older, I took on the task myself, spending my minimum wage paychecks on bedding and thrifty finds from local yard sales. When I arrived at college, decorating my own space and shopping for new items for my apartment was what I lived for: from there I found my passion and now my career path. There are two majors in the relm of home decor at High Point: Interior Design and Home Furnishings. Although they sound the same, they are completely different. Home Furnishings is focused on the furniture/product itself, as opposed to the space. My passion lies within the former. I am driven by beautiful pieces of furniture and love to use this knowledge of the industry to identify upcoming trends and what people will be putting in their homes in the next season. It may sound like a snooze-fest to most, but for me it’s thrilling. My ultimate goal by graduation is to have a job as a Home Furnishings and Accessories Buyer or to work generally with a furnishings retailer/e-tailer. But for now, I will be blabbing on about design inspiration, gorgeous furniture, and lifestyle trends to the 2 people that are probably reading this. Enjoy 🙂 xx Meg

5 thoughts on “Ready, Set…

  1. I really loved your story about how you developed your passion for home furnishings and design. I hope to learn a lot from your blog as our family just moved here and we still have some undecorated rooms in our house!

    Like

  2. I think it is great that you discovered your interest for furniture at such a young age. Having nice furniture will always be something to appreciate. You are definitely at the right school and in the right town to learn more about unique home furnishings and continue to develop your own ideas.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think it is great that you discovered your interest for furniture at such a young age. Having nice furniture will always be something to appreciate. You are definitely at the right school and in the right town to learn more about unique home furnishings and continue to develop your own ideas.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment